For Immediate Release Contact:

Robert Mitchell@harvard.edu 617 780 9465

## Harvard University's Hutchins Center for African and African American Research Honor 2014 W.E.B. Du Bois Medalists

## Dr. Maya Angelou, Harry Belafonte, Oprah Winfrey Among Recipients

**Sept. 22, 2014—Cambridge, Mass.—** Dr. Maya Angelou, Harry Belafonte and Oprah Winfrey are among the nine recipients of the 2014 W.E.B. Du Bois Medal. The medal, awarded annually since 2000, honors those who have made significant contributions to African and African American history and culture. The Hutchins Center for African and African American Research at Harvard will hold the awards presentation ceremony on Tues., Sept. 30 at 4 p.m. in Sanders Theatre, Memorial Hall, 45 Quincy St., Cambridge, Mass.

The ceremony marks the first anniversary of the establishment of the Hutchins Center, formerly the W. E. B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research. The Hutchins Center includes the W. E. B. Du Bois Research Institute; the Hiphop Archive and Research Institute; the Afro-Latin American Research Institute; the Program for the Study of Race & Gender in Science & Medicine; the History Design Studio; the Image of the Black Archive & Library; the Jazz Research Initiative; and two publications, *Transition* and the *Du Bois Review*. The newest component of the Hutchins Center is the Ethelbert Cooper Gallery of African and African American Art, which will open to the public on October 21. The Cooper Gallery will feature rotating exhibits and programming primarily in contemporary art and will facilitate research, teaching, and community engagement.

Henry Louis Gates Jr., Alphonse Fletcher University Professor and director of the Hutchins Center, said, "The Du Bois Medal is Harvard's highest honor for outstanding contributions to African and African American culture. It is this history and culture that the Hutchins Center explores, interrogates, and celebrates, and the opening of the Cooper Gallery further establishes us as the preeminent center for scholars and artists who take the African Diaspora as their subject."

Glenn H. Hutchins, co-founder and managing director of the private equity firm Silver Lake and the chairman of the National Advisory Board of the Hutchins Center, said, "This year's medalists demonstrate the abiding influence of African and African American creativity on the way we see the world around us. From the realms of the arts, politics, and philanthropy, all have built their careers on a foundation of vision, innovation, and a profound belief in the potential of the human spirit."

## The 2014 W.E.B. Du Bois Medal recipients are:

- **David Adjaye**, world-renowned architect and Principal of Adjaye Associates, known for the design of such iconic structures as the Museum of Contemporary Art in Denver, the Nobel Peace Centre in Oslo and the forthcoming Smithsonian National Museum for African American History and Culture in Washington, D.C. He is also the architect of the Cooper Gallery and the designer of the Hutchins Center façade. In addition, he is serving as curator of the inaugural exhibition.
- The award will be presented by Mohsen Mostafavi, Dean and Alexander and Victoria
  Wiley Professor of Design, Harvard's Graduate School of Design.
- Maya Angelou (posthumous), poetess, author, dancer, actress and activist. Angelou, who died earlier this year, was the recipient of numerous awards and prizes, including the Presidential Medal of Freedom and more than 50 honorary degrees. She was the Reynolds Professor of American Studies at Wake Forest University.
- Presenter: Jamaica Kincaid, Professor of African and African American Studies in Residence at Harvard.
- Harry Belafonte, an activist who marched along side Martin Luther King Jr., is a champion for the rights and dignity of people around the world, including his campaign to end apartheid in South Africa. Belafonte, whose career as a singer and actor spans more than 60 years, won a Tony Award in 1953 and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award (2014).
- Presenter: Michael D. Smith, Edgerley Family Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, John H. Finley, Jr. Professor of Engineering and Applied Sciences.
- Valerie Jarrett, Senior Advisor to President Barack Obama, manages the Offices of Public Engagement and Intergovernmental Affairs, and chairs the White House Council on Women and Girls. A graduate of Stanford University and the University of Michigan Law School, Jarrett has had a distinguished career in government and private law practice.
- Presenter: Glenn H. Hutchins, Co-founder and Managing Director of the private equity firm Silver Lake.

- John Lewis, Congressman, representing Georgia's 5<sup>th</sup> district, may be best known for his dedicated and courageous fight for desegregation during the Civil Rights movement. During that era, he organized sit-ins, participated in Freedom Rides, and was a keynote speaker at the 1963 March on Washington. He earned a B.A. from Fisk University and has been awarded more than 50 honorary degrees.
- Presenter: Deval Patrick, Governor of Massachusetts.
- **Steve McQueen**, Oscar-winning film director for the 2014 Best Picture, *12 Years a Slave.* He has received numerous accolades for his work as a filmmaker, including Commander of the Order of the British Empire, and the British Turner Prize. This year he was selected one of *Time* magazine's 100 Most Influential People in the World.
- Presenter: William Julius Wilson, Lewis P. and Linda L. Geyser University Professor at Harvard.
- Shonda Rhimes, screenwriter, director and producer, is best known for her hit television shows *Scandal*, starring Kerry Washington, and *Grey's Anatomy*. Her next television venture, *How to Get Away With Murder*, starring Viola Davis, premieres this month. Rhimes received her bachelor's degree from Dartmouth College, which, earlier this year, awarded her an honorary Doctor of Arts degree.
- Presenter: Lawrence D. Bobo, W. E. B. Du Bois Professor of the Social Sciences and Chair, Department of African and African American Studies at Harvard.
- Harvey Weinstein, co-chairman of the Weinstein Company, and founder, with his brother, of Miramax Films. Under his and brother Bob's leadership, the two companies have produced some of the world's most successful and critically acclaimed films, including *Mandela*, *The Butler*, *The King's Speech*, *Chicago*, *Gangs of New York* and *Good Will Hunting*. During their tenure at the two companies, the Weinsteins have won 75 Academy Awards.
- Presenter: Diane Paulus, Artistic Director of Harvard's American Repertory Theatre.
- **Oprah Winfrey** became a household name and one of the world's most respected people during her 25-year run as host of *The Oprah Winfrey Show*. Not only is she a television pioneer, creating Harpo Studios and OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network, she is well respected for her work as founder and editorial director of *O*, *The Oprah Magazine*, as an Academy Award nominated actress, movie and Broadway producer, best-selling author and philanthropist.

 Presenter: Drew Gilpin Faust, Harvard University President and the Lincoln Professor of History.

###

Note to media: Media passes to the ceremony will be available beginning at 3 p.m. on Sept. 30 in the lobby outside Sanders Theatre.